The life of Jesus Christ is a special part of Christian doctrine and theology. Jesus’ life is divided into five major phases: preexistence, birth and childhood, ministry, passion and resurrection, and ascension and pentacost.


Before Jesus was born, He existed with His Father in Heaven. He is believed to have existed from all eternity, and to be of the same nature as God.

Birth and Childhood

Jesus was born in a humble stable, with only the animals and his parents Joseph and Mary to attend him. At age 12 He traveled to the Jerusalem with His parents, and during his childhood He spent most of his time in Nazareth.


Jesus called himself the son of man, and began preaching when He was about 30 years old. During His ministry, He preached the good news and performed miracles. He met with many people, and often challenged the authorities of the day.

Passion and Resurrection

Following His ministry, Jesus was betrayed by a close follower, arrested and put on trial. He was found guilty and crucified. After three days, He was resurrected and returned to earth, before ascending to Heaven.

Ascension and Pentecost

After His ascension, Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to the disciples. On the day of Pentecost, the Holy Spirit gave the disciples the power to speak in different languages and thus carry out the mission of preaching the gospel to all the world.

These five phases make up the life of Jesus Christ and are essential elements of Christian belief.

Share this article on

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on email

All-time most read

Want more healthy tips?

Scroll to Top

Do you have any questions?